Public Statement – 11/10/13

noelle-and-kids

I want to thank the Peak to Peak community for their support at last Wednesday’s board meeting by showing up, speaking up and/or signing the petition demanding transparency. I am especially grateful to the parents and staff who whole-heartedly supported me without reservation based on what they know of my record and character. My family and I are overwhelmed with gratitude for the outpouring of love, support and kind words that were spoken on my behalf.

I want to shed some light on the events that transpired. On Friday November 1st, I was called into a meeting and terminated. While I was still trying to understand the reason why I was being terminated, I was immediately offered a buyout contract. In exchange for saying I resigned and staying silent about my separation from the school, I was offered compensation (I did not take this offer and it has since been rescinded). As I stated previously, I have been at Peak to Peak over eight years receiving high reviews for my performance. My direction and work-ethic this year were as committed and dynamic as the previous eight years. I had no intention of leaving the school I loved, especially in the middle of the school year, since this would adversely affect the students, staff and my professional reputation.

My desire is to return to Peak to Peak. I want to continue working with the incredible staff, students, and families who made me love coming to work every day. But whether I return to Peak to Peak or move on to a new venture, I must first restore my reputation that has been tarnished by subtle, yet damaging, suggestions that have given rise to awful speculation about the reasons behind my termination. This has taken a toll, not only on me, but also my family-including my two young sons who are students at Peak to Peak- as well as other families, students, and members of the Peak to Peak community. Ultimately, I want the staff to work in a respectful and supportive environment where the primary focus is the welfare, success and safety of the children who have been entrusted to our care.

My hope is that both the school and I are able to preserve our reputations. At Peak to Peak Elementary, we have a “Stand Up-Speak Out” campaign. I know I can stand tall and look my own children in the eyes knowing that I have put children first despite the consequences.

Noelle Roni

Leave a comment